This site requires JavaScript to be enabled
Welcome Guest|
Recent searches
IE BUMPER

Managing your VM

Number of views : 2
Article Number : KB0011593
Published on : 2020-09-14
Last modified : 2020-09-14 15:46:36
Knowledge Base : IT Public Self Help

Managing your VM

Once you have VMs provisioned there are many actions that you can perform on them.

Select the Deployments Tab to manage VMs you have provisioned.

Select the Filter icon to manage VMs that others in your group (as well as yourself) have provisioned. You can alter the filter using the filter menu at the left side of the window. It will appear after clicking on the filter icon. 

Select the VM you're interested in working on by clicking on the name of the deployment containing the VM, after which you can select the cog icon next to the VM name within the deployment to view the available actions. 

 

Operations you can perform

Operation
What it does
Reconfigure

Allows you to change number of CPUs, Memory, Description, Add storage (virtual disks), etc..

Create Snapshot

 

A popup window will appear with an automatically generated default snapshot name. It's preferred that you do not snapshot the machine's memory (checkbox UNchecked) unless there is a special need to do so.  You might want to enter some sort of description so you can differentiate between snapshots if your VM will be getting multiple snapshots.  Hit Submit.

NOTE: Snapshot Age Limit is 14 days by default. Please clean up your VM snapshots (delete them) when they are no longer needed.

Revert to Snapshot A popup window will appear prompting you to choose the snapshot to revert to. Click the green plus sign to open another window with a list of snapshots. Check the box next to the one you wish to revert to and click the "select" button. Click "Submit" to proceed with the revert process.
Delete Snapshot A popup window will appear prompting you to choose the snapshot for deletion. Click the green plus sign to open another window with a list of snapshots. Check the box next to the one you wish to delete and click the "select" button. Click "Submit" to proceed with deletion.
Change Lease

Our default blueprints, prefixed with "Global - ", do not have a Lease with Expiration set on them.  However you can specify a lease on the VM whereby the VM will have the Expiration Date set to the last day and time on the lease. VMs will be automatically powered off at the date and time of expiration, and deleted 14 days later. Change Lease allows you to set/change the lease on a VM.

Destroy Delete the VM.  VM will be shutdown if it is running and deleted from disk.
Expire Force the VM into an Expired state - as if a Lease had expired on the VM.  This will shut the VM down, but the VM will stay around for 14 days (for VMs provisioned from Global blueprints) before being deleted from disk.
Power Cycle Performs a hard "Reset Virtual Machine"
Power off Hard power off the VM.
Reboot Initiate guest OS reboot via VM Tools integration.
Reprovision

Do NOT use. This will destroy the VM and recreate it with the original specifications. Instead do a Destroy and then provision a new VM.

There are some orchestration issues around the reprovision action that make its use undesirable.

Shutdown Shutdown VM via the guest's VM Tools integration.
Suspend

Suspend VM - VM is put into a state similar putting a laptop into hibernate.  The VM is not running and not shutdown.  It is in a "suspended" state (including memory).

Do a Power on to un-suspend the VM.

Connect to Remote Console Opens the VM console in a new browser tab.
Connect using VMRC A new browser tab will open with a link to open the VM console in the VMRC application. 
Update Billing Account Number Allows you to enter a new billing account number for your VM. The account number will be applied from the date of change going forward. If you need to backdate the account number please open a ticket with utvmg-support@austin.utexas.edu with the VM name, account number, and date that the account number should change. 
Update Billing Email Address Allows you to enter a new billing email address for your VM. 
Update Net Contacts Allows you to add or update the Net Contacts fields for your VM.
Update Tech Email Address Allows you to enter a new technical contact email address for your VM. 
Update Virtual Server Status Allows you to move your VM designation between "development" and "production" states. 

 

Thank You! Your feedback has been submitted.

Feedback