This site requires JavaScript to be enabled
Welcome Guest|
Recent searches
IE BUMPER

Post Button on Ticket Activity Logs and Overwrite Warning

Number of views : 12
Article Number : KB0015470
Published on : 2018-03-12
Last modified : 2020-05-06 21:51:30
Knowledge Base : ServiceNow - Public Self Help

Using the Post Button

The Post button for the Additional Comments / Work Notes field on the Incident and Request forms is a shortcut button that allows fulfillers to quickly make an update to the notes on a ticket.

After entering content in the Additional Comments / Work Notes field, clicking Post will save that content to the ticket's Activity Log. Clicking Post will not save changes made to any other part of the ticket, including the State, Assignment Group/Assignee, Categorization, Requested By/For, etc.

The functionality is essentially the same as updating the Additional Comments / Work Notes only, then clicking Save at the top of the ticket. It's simply a more convenient option for fulfillers who are only updating the log.

Overwrite Warning

Because using the Post button saves a new change to the incident record, if you click Save or Update after using the Post button (regardless of whether or not you make additional changes to the ticket), you will receive a popup box warning you that changes have been made to the record since you opened it, and that continuing may overwrite those changes.

This popup is a global setting intended to prevent fulfillers from overwriting ticket changes made by other fulfillers who may unknowingly be working on the same ticket simultaneously. You will note the user information for the fulfiller who recently updated the ticket is visible in the warning message. 

If you have made additional updates to a ticket after using the Post button, you will see your own user information in the popup warning. As long as this is the case, you can safely click Ok on the overwrite warning to continue. All of your updates will be saved on the ticket. No information will be lost or overwritten.

Please Note: If you only update the Additional Comments or Work Log, there is no need to use the Save or Update buttons - you can simply navigate away from the ticket and avoid the popup message.

 

 

 

Thank You! Your feedback has been submitted.

Feedback