Knowledge Article Workflow States and Valid Dates
Knowledge articles can be in the following states:
The content is unpublished and available for editing. It can be accessed by the original author in Self Service > My Knowledge Articles. Updates can be saved while keeping the article in Draft state.
After selecting Publish on an article, the article will be placed in Review if it is submitted to a knowledge base that requires approval before publishing new articles. An article may also be placed in Review if it is published, then edited, and lives in a base that requires approval before publishing updates to existing articles. Articles in Review can be accessed and edited by the original author in Self Service > My Knowledge Articles. Approvals are completed by Knowledge Base managers.
The article is published and visible to all users with read access. It will appear in knowledge searches and global searches.
After selecting Retire on an article, the article will be placed in Pending Retirement if it lives in a base that requires approval before retiring articles. Approvals are completed by Knowledge Base managers.
An article in Retired state is visible only to the Owner and Manager(s) of the knowledge base where the article lives. It will not appear in knowledge searches or global searches. It can be returned to Draft state to return to the workflow if it becomes relevant again or is retired by mistake.
Valid To Date
Knowledge articles have a designated Valid To date. By default, this date is 1 year from the date of creation, but it can be manually changed to be sooner or later once the article is published.
Every time an article is edited, the Valid To date will automatically update to 1 year from the date of the edit. As long as you are regularly updating articles, you will not generally need to worry about the Valid To date.
When an article passes its Valid To date while published, the Knowledge Article Owner will receive a notification that the article needs to be reviewed and the Valid To date reset. If no Knowledge Article Owner is indicated on the article, the Knowledge Base Manager(s) will receive a notification.
Articles past their Valid To date will still be visible to end users as long as they remain in the Published state.