What Happens to My Email After I Leave the University?
|Table of Contents|
What Happens to My Email After I Leave the University? - Faculty, Staff, and Students
Faculty and Staff
In accordance with section 4.1 of the Information Resources Use and Security Policy, when your affiliation of Current or Future Faculty/Staff changes to Former Faculty/Staff, you will no longer have access your mailbox as your eligibility will have changed.
Office 365 accounts cannot be kept after leaving the university. Individuals who are no longer eligible for Office 365 have 120 days in which to request the contents of their account. After that 120 day period, your mailbox and its contents will be permanently deleted.
You can request that the contents of your mailbox be exported and sent in a .pst file before you leave the university by emailing email@example.com. Note, former supervisor approval will be needed.
You can also create your own archive using the instructions at the following links:
Outlook for Windows
Outlook for Mac
When you are no longer eligible for a mailbox, you will receive an email in your Exchange account and your official email address listed in TED.
UT System currently requires unaffiliated accounts be purged every quarter per UTS165 Standards.
UTmail Business accounts are suspended when an employee no longer works at the university unless they are retiring (see below) or explicit steps are taken to prevent this. Business accounts are deleted after 120 days of being in a suspended state if their owner is no longer eligible for service.
UT Retiree Personal Accounts: UTmail Business accounts will automatically be converted into a Personal account when a former employee's EID reflects a "Retiree" affiliation as long as they have not already claimed a Personal account. UTmail Personal accounts for retirees will be automatically suspended if the owner does not log in at least once every 365 days (mail.google.com/a/utexas.edu). Notification emails will be sent to the account and recovery email prior to suspension and will contain instructions to prevent/revert suspension. Current employees leaving the university are not eligible for a personal account. Retiree Personal accounts have a lower amount of storage than Business accounts. Please review the What's Changing with UTmail article for details regarding differences in account types.
OneDrive and all other Office 365 components will become unavailable once the license is removed.
Former students will lose access to Office 365 services as soon as they are considered a former student by the EID system. Former student affiliation is evaluated on the 12th class day of the next long semester after graduating.
Office 365 accounts cannot be kept after leaving the university. Individuals who are no longer eligible for Office 365 have 365 days in which to request the contents of their account. After that 365 day period, your mailbox and its contents will be permanently deleted.
UT Alumni are eligible for UTmail Personal Accounts and the accounts will continue to exist after graduation. Personal UTmail accounts belonging to alumni will be automatically suspended if the user does not log in at least once every 365 days (mail.google.com/a/utexas.edu). Notification emails will be sent to the account and recovery email prior to suspension and will contain instructions to prevent/revert suspension.
Personal accounts have different storage quotas than those of current students & employees. Please review What's Changing with UTmail for details regarding differences in account types.
Access to OneDrive and all other Office 365 components will automatically be inaccessible once your Office365 license is removed. There is not a 30 day grace period to access OneDrive and other Office 365 components.
How Do I Keep My Email Messages When I Leave?
You can request that the contents of your mailbox be exported and sent in a .pst file before they leave the university by emailing firstname.lastname@example.org.
Former supervisor approval is required.
What If My Customers/Clients Are Still Sending Mail to a Deleted Mailbox?
Please notify all contacts that your email address will no longer be available and provide them with an alternate contact address.
If an individual's mailbox has been deleted and important mail is still being sent to it, you may request that mail be forwarded to a new location. When gaining access to another individual’s account, approval from the Information Security Office is required and will be granted on a case-by-case basis. This is required to maintain the confidentiality of the account information. Only supervisors of the original account owner are allowed to submit these requests. Please email email@example.com and the UT Service Desk will forward the information to the ISO.
What If I Have a Personal UTmail Mailbox?
Personal UTmail accounts are offered to students and alumni, as well as faculty and staff that retire from the University.
- UTmail Personal Accounts are lifelong accounts and will continue to exist after you graduate or retire from the university.
- Former students can still sign up for Personal Accounts even after they have left the University.
- You are allowed only 1 personal account tied to your EID.
- UTmail/Personal Accounts are an optional service
- If a retiree has an existing Business Account, it will be converted into a Personal Account automatically when their EID reflects a "Retiree" affiliation.
- Please review What's Changing with UTmail for details regarding differences in account types.
Additional questions? Please visit the University Email Accounts: Getting Started knowledge article, contact the UT Service Desk at 512-475-9400, email firstname.lastname@example.org or stop by first floor lobby of the Flawn Academic Center (FAC) for walk-in service.