This site requires JavaScript to be enabled
Welcome Guest|
Recent searches
IE BUMPER

Using Backup Self Service

Number of views : 12
Article Number : KB0011600
Published on : 2020-08-14
Last modified : 2020-08-14 20:09:22
Knowledge Base : IT Public Self Help

Backup Basics

How often does UT-VMG Backup run?

UT-VMG backup runs every eight (8) hours or three times a day, and retains up to thirty days of change points. The increments are injected into the full backup file, so that the latest backup file is always a full backup of the most recent state.

Retention Policy

UT-VMG backup runs every eight (8) hours or three times a day, and retains up to thirty days of change points. Once a VM is deleted/destroyed in UT-VMG, backups of that VM(s) will be retained and available for two weeks after the deletion.

Opting out of UT-VMG Backups

To opt out of UT-VMG backups, choose "No" from the VM Backups when submitting the VM request. If you want to change whether a VM is backed up or not, submit a request to utvmg-support@austin.utexas.edu with the name of the VM and your backup preference.

Please note that by deciding not to use UT-VMG backup, that if something happens and your VM is corrupted, damaged, or somehow placed in a non-functional state, UT-VMG administrators will not be able to recover your VM.

Prerequisites

  • The ability to log into UT-VMG portal
  • Web Browser with ability to access "Campus-routed" network addresses. (If you are trying to do this from off-campus, you'll need to come in via VPN so you can reach the campus-routed website.)

Restoration Methods

Performing a full Virtual Machine Restore

This procedure will overwrite the existing copy of the VM with the backup you choose. If you need a backup copy restored to a new VM to preserve the original, make a request to utvmg-support@austin.utexas.edu and the UT-VMG team will assist you.

  • To perform a full restore of a Virtual Machine, open your favorite browser and navigate to https://vmbackup.austin.utexas.edu
  • Log in is the same as what you use to log into the UT-VMG portal
  • After a successful log in you will see a list Virtual Machines that you have permission to Restore
  • Select the Virtual Machine from the list
  • Select the "Restore" Link
  • Select the "Restore Point" you wish to go back to and select "Restore"
  • There are two additional options to choose
    • Powered on after restore
    • Quick rollback (restore Changed blocks only)
      Veeam Backup & Replication quick rollback is an incremental data restore. Instead of restoring an entire VM or VM disk from a backup file, Veeam Backup & Replication will recover only those data blocks that are necessary to revert the VM or VM disk to an earlier point in time.
  • To View progress of restore, select the "History" link. You can then follow the restore process:

 

Once Restore is complete, you can log into the UT-VMG interface or vCenter to perform any tasks on the newly restored VM.

Thank You! Your feedback has been submitted.

Feedback